We may be compensated if you purchase through links on our website. Our Reviews Team is committed to delivering honest, objective, and independent reviews on home products and services.More
Sunpro Solar Panels

ADT Solar (Previously Sunpro Solar) Review

Compare quotes from local solar experts

Invalid Zip Code

Default Author Icon Written by Tamara Jude Updated 04/17/2024

Note: On January 24, 2024, ADT announced that it will be exiting the residential solar industry. Our review of ADT Solar prior to the announcement can be found below. For other solar options, see our review of the best solar companies.

Using solar power as a supplement or replacement for conventional electricity has become popular over the years, particularly in residential neighborhoods. With the cost of solar panel installation decreasing over the past 10 years and government incentives awarded to solar panel owners, solar energy has established itself as a viable alternative power source.

ADT Solar, formerly known as Sunpro Solar, provides solar panel and battery installation services to customers in 21 different states.

Read our review of ADT Solar’s services, warranties, and purchasing options to decide if it’s the best solar provider for your home.


Our Take on ADT Solar

ADT Solar offers comprehensive warranties and system monitoring to help support customers once their solar energy system is installed. Its transparent purchasing options and A+ rating from the BBB make ADT Solar a trusted provider for homeowners looking into solar.

We like the comprehensive 25-year labor and equipment warranty, plus the 25-year power production guarantee. We also like that ADT Solar offers three financing options and solar equipment from multiple well-respected manufacturers. Our primary concern with ADT Solar is the many negative customer reviews citing slow installation or improperly installed panels. 

light bulb

ADT Solar Overview

  • BBB rating: A+
  • Year founded: 2008
  • State availability: 21
  • Warranty options: 25-year labor and equipment warranty, 25-year power production guarantee 
  • Payment options: Full purchase, solar loan, solar lease
Company Star Rating Warranties Payment Options Link
4.5
10–25 years Full purchase, loan, lease, PPA GET QUOTE
4.4
10–25 years Full purchase, loan GET QUOTE
4.4
25 years Full purchase, loan, lease, PPA GET QUOTE
4.4
10–25 years Full purchase, loan, lease, PPA GET QUOTE
4.4
25 years Full purchase, loan GET QUOTE
4.6
N/A N/A GET QUOTE
4.6
25 years Full purchase, loan, lease, PPA GET QUOTE
4.0
10-25 years Full purchase, loan GET QUOTE
No results were found.
Pros
Offers self-monitoring through Enphase MyEnlighten
Includes comprehensive protection, plus monetary compensation for poor-performing panels
Provides additional roof repair services
Cons
Limits coverage area to 23 states
Received negative reviews for poor customer service and automated calls
Offers a selection of name-brand solar panels and battery options

ADT Solar Services and Panel Options

ADT Solar sells monocrystalline solar panels, which have efficiency rates between 15% and 20% and an average life span of 25–40 years. Its panels are from some of the world’s most popular solar manufacturers, including Q Cells, Silfab, and Canadian Solar.

ADT also sells solar batteries and microinverters. 

  • Backup battery: A backup battery stores your system’s excess energy in case of a power grid outage or a period of minimal sunlight. ADT Solar lets you customize your system with your choice of battery backup, including popular options such as the Tesla Powerwall 2 and the Enphase Encharge 10.
  • Microinverters: ADT Solar also sells Enphase inverters. These are what allow renewable energy to be converted into electricity directly at each panel. This helps you avoid higher costs and complications from a system that requires multiple cables and junction boxes.

ADT offers installation services for both panels and batteries. The company also has a roofing company, Buildpro, that helps you take care of installing a new roof and solar at the same time.


ADT Solar Installation Process

If you’re looking to integrate solar panels with your home’s electrical system, consider solar panel system installation from ADT Solar.

  1. Site assessment—To begin, ADT Solar will send a team of solar consultants to your home to determine if your home can support solar panels. Solar panels are most efficient when installed on a roof that’s facing south with little shade coverage. If your roof gets too much shade or has too steep of an incline, you may not be able to install a system.
  2. Design—ADT’s expert design team will work with you to create the ideal solar array for your roof and energy needs. 
  3. Permitting—Before your installation can begin, ADT Solar acquires the necessary permits that your municipality requires.
  4. Installation—Once your home is approved for installation, ADT Solar technicians install your selected solar panels and connect your system to the electrical grid. If you want to store excess energy collected by your solar panels, ADT Solar offers battery backup installation. 
  5. Inspection—ADT will work with a local building inspector to make sure your system is up to code. 
  6. System connection—Once your inspection is approved, ADT will turn on your system, and you can connect it to your local utility company’s power grid.

ADT Solar Reviews

ADT Solar is accredited by the Better Business Bureau (BBB), where it holds an A+ rating*. We read over 50 of the most recent customer reviews for ADT Solar and found that the company has many negative reviews from the last several months. Many customers report extended installation timelines and issues with workmanship. 

Here’s a sample of the negative and positive feedback customers have left about ADT, formerly Sunpro Solar:

“The panels were not installed to code. It took 8 months for ADT to come back and correct the deficiencies so the building department could sign off and I could receive permission to operate my system. So, for 8 months I was making loan payments while also paying full energy rates to the power company. In addition, their installers stained my carpet and left black finger prints on my walls and ceiling near the openings to my attic access.” — Peggy M., June 29, 2023, on BBB

Our salesman was awesome and super straightforward, didn’t sell us a pipe dream. We have not had an electrical bill over 13 Dollars yet. We are waiting on our state incentives and have already received our Federal Tax Credit. Great crew and sales staff. Communication took a day sometimes.” — Eydra C., March 20, 2023, on BBB

It took six months to get installed only to find out when we tried to turn them on that the whole system was wired incorrectly and not working. A month later they got it fixed however they never came back to install their energy package which was one of the key selling points. They dug a trench through my yard and didn’t replace the grass.” — Jeremy P., June 27, 2023, on BBB

Our last electric bill was $16.61. Basically, we have traded our electric bill for our payment on the solar panels, except that when the panels are paid for, we will own them, and still have very little to pay the electric company. The app on our phones is fun to watch as we can see how much electricity the panels are producing, and also how much electricity we are consuming.” — Sandra R., May 18, 2022, on BBB

*BBB information is accurate as of January 2024.


ADT Solar Payment Options

ADT Solar provides three financing options:

  • Full purchase: If you can afford it, fully purchasing your system up-front comes with the most financial advantages. You’ll qualify for the federal solar tax credit, will own your system from day one, and won’t pay interest fees on a loan.
  • Solar loan: With a solar loan, you’ll pay a fixed monthly payment based on your credit score. This option also gives you system ownership and qualifies you for solar incentives. However, the loan’s interest rates mean you’ll pay more for the system in the long run. 
  • Solar lease: Leasing solar panels means you pay the solar company monthly for the system but don’t own it and don’t qualify for most solar incentives.

ADT Solar Warranty Options

ADT offers customers competitive warranty coverage on both equipment and labor. Most solar companies offer a 10-, 20-, or 25-year warranty. ADT Solar provides a 25-year warranty and performance guarantee. 

Here’s a breakdown of coverage with ADT:

  • 25-year labor guarantee on workmanship 
  • 25-year power production guarantee that states if your system does not produce the amount of energy guaranteed, you’ll receive the difference in cash
  • 25-year panel performance guarantee to cover any other issues that may arise with your panels 
  • 25-year Enphase microinverters guarantee to cover any issues that may occur with your system’s Enphase microinverters

Other Solar Company Reviews


Is Solar Worth It?

If you have a suitable property, installing a solar panel system is worth it, both financially and environmentally. Benefits include:

  • Renewable energy: Solar energy is a natural, infinite resource. 
  • Lower energy bills: Sourcing some or all of your home’s electricity needs from solar panels instead of your local utility company’s power grid saves electricity bill costs. 
  • Increased home value: Solar systems can increase home value. 
  • Reduced environmental impact: Opting for a renewable energy source reduces your carbon footprint and is a more sustainable way to power your home. 

You’ll benefit from going solar if:

  • Your property gets plenty of sun exposure
  • You live in an area that uses net-metering
  • You have high utility bills
  • You qualify for solar incentives that can save you money

Learn more about whether solar is worth it for your property. 

Solar Incentives and Rebates

Most states offer solar incentives and rebates to help buyers save money on their solar power systems. While this varies by state, common incentives include:

  • Property tax exemption: Participating states waive the additional property taxes associated with a solar panel system. 
  • Sales tax exemption: Some states waive sales tax on solar equipment. 
  • Federal solar tax credit: The federal government allows those who own their system to claim 30% of the total system cost on their taxes for the year of installation. Note that this requires system ownership, so only those who purchase their system outright or through a solar loan qualify. 
  • Net metering: Net metering is a program that allows you to sell any excess energy your system generates to your local utility company.

ADT Solar Mobile App

ADT Solar offers the ADT Solar Referral app. This app lets you earn money by referring your friends to ADT’s solar or roofing services.

You receive $35 for each qualified referral and $25 for your friend(s) meeting with the company. If your referral chooses solar services with ADT Solar, you receive an additional $1,000. If they get a new roof, you receive $500.

Enphase MyEnlighten

ADT Solar relies on the solar equipment manufacturer Enphase to offer 24/7 solar monitoring services. This app lets you analyze system performance against weather data. You can also verify your solar system’s health and share metrics on social media platforms.


Our Conclusion

In light of the news of ADT Solar leaving the market, we recommend Palmetto, Sunrun, or Freedom Solar as alternatives.

Before deciding on any company to handle your solar project, we recommend thoroughly looking at a provider’s website, warranty, customer reviews, and reputation. Get an online estimate from at least three companies to compare pricing before making your purchase.

Get Estimates from Solar Experts in Your Area
Totally free, no phone call required

Frequently Asked Questions About ADT Solar

Does ADT own ADT Solar?

Yes, ADT Home Security owns ADT Solar. The company completed its acquisition of Sunpro in December 2021 and rebranded to ADT Solar.

How long does a solar panel last?

Many solar panels see a significant power output decrease within 25 years.

How many solar panels does it take to run a house?

The number of solar panels required to run a home depends on factors such as electrical usage and your home’s infrastructure. To estimate how much solar energy your home needs and how much solar panels will cost, use the National Renewable Energy Laboratory PVWatts Calculator.

How reliable is ADT Solar?

ADT Solar has an A+ BBB rating but has many negative customer reviews on the site and on Yelp, EnergySage, and SolarReviews. We recommend asking your local ADT Solar company for customer testimonials and references. 

What brand of solar panels does ADT use?

ADT Solar sells solar panels from popular brands such as Q Cells, Silfab, and Canadian Solar.

Our Rating Methodology

We are committed to providing comprehensive and unbiased reviews to our readers. After over a thousand hours of research on solar companies, interviews with experts, and common customer needs, we’ve created a detailed rating system for solar providers based on six factors:

  • Solar equipment, installation, and services (25%)
  • Warranty and performance guarantees (25%)
  • Brand reputation and certifications (15%)
  • Financing options (15%)
  • Experience (10%)
  • Availability (10%)

Total scores are divided by 20 for a final 5-point rating scale.

To share feedback or ask a question about this article, send a note to our Reviews team at reviews@thisoldhousereviews.com.