AHW Home Warranty is based in Columbus, Ohio, and has a network of licensed and insured contractors in the home warranty industry, partnering with over 40,000 in-network service providers nationwide. The company covers major home systems and appliances regardless of their age, as long as they’re in good working order upon the contract start date.

In this AHW Home Warranty review, the This Old House Reviews Team will review the company’s plans, coverage, pricing, claims process, and reviews, and recommend other top-rated home warranties for you and your home.

VIEW MORE

Is AHW Home Warranty Worth It?

While the This Old House Reviews Team does not recommend AHW Home Warranty, readers can compare the advantages and disadvantages of signing up for an AHW protection plan below:

Pros and Cons of AHW Home Warranty

ProsCons
✔ $75 off + 1 month free when signing up✘ As of November 2021, AHW has settled a class-action lawsuit filed by the Arizona Attorney General alleging that the company violated the Arizona Consumer Fraud Act
✔ Wide variety of add-on options✘ Does not cover items with pre-existing conditions
✔ 24/7 customer service✘ Multiple This Old House readers have noted unexpected claim denials

In late May 2021, the Arizona State Attorney General filed a class-action lawsuit against AHW for alleged fraudulent activity, including misrepresenting its years in business, concealing the identity of its chief executive, and generating false positive consumer reviews.

The lawsuit was settled in late November 2021 with AHW agreeing to pay over $150,000 in customer restitution, civil penalties, and more.

The Reviews Team has reached out to the company and has not yet received comment.

AHW Home Warranty Plans and Coverage

Under an AHW home warranty contract, policyholders can choose between three packages: a Systems Plan, Appliances Plan, and Combo Plan. The Appliances Plan protects major home appliances like the dishwasher and refrigerator, the Systems Plan covers air conditioning, heating, and other essential systems, and the Combo Plan is a comprehensive package that protects everything included in the Systems and Appliances Plans, covering 28 total items, which is more than the 18–19 units covered under an industry-average plan.

Here’s an overview of what’s covered under each plan.

What’s Covered In AHW Plans

Systems and AppliancesCombo PlanSystems PlanAppliances Plan
Central AC System
Central Heating System
Plumbing Including Stoppages
Electrical System
Hot Water Heater
Ductwork
Jetted Bathtub
Garage Door Openers
Dishwasher
Refrigerator with Ice Maker
Clothes Dryer
Stand-Alone Freezer
Oven, Range, Stove, and Cooktop
Clothes Washer
Microwave Oven
Instant Hot Water Dispensers
Garbage Disposal
Attic Fan
Ceiling Fan
Bathroom Exhaust Fan
Doorbell
Kitchen Fan/Exhaust Hood

AHW also offers an extensive list of optional add-ons that can be included in the warranty for an additional fee.

  • Pool and spa
  • Additional central heating unit
  • Additional central AC unit
  • Lawn sprinkler system
  • Septic system
  • Whole-House humidifier
  • Sump pump
  • Limited roof leak
  • Ice maker
  • Additional washer/dryer
  • Additional microwave
  • Central vacuum
  • Well pump
  • Wine refrigerator
  • Secondary refrigerator
  • Water softener
  • Additional hot water heater
  • Extra oven
  • Additional dishwasher

AHW promises to cover home systems and appliances if:

  1. They become inoperable due to normal wear and tear.
  2. They are in place and in proper working order on the contract start date.
  3. They are located inside the confines of the main foundation of the home or detached garage.

Contracts are subject to a 30-day waiting period after the policy is purchased and is in place for 365 days from that date.

Coverage Exclusions

While covered items are protected against malfunctions of components that are necessary for operation, AHW Home Warranty does exclude specific issues. For instance, cosmetic defects, pre-existing conditions, rust or corrosion, and problems caused by an improper operation are not included.

Additionally, according to an AHW sample contract, the maximum liability shall never exceed $1,500 per contract for access, diagnosis, and replacement. However, some covered items like plumbing and electrical are capped at $500. Fortunately, the maximum payout for expensive HVAC equipment is protected up to $2,500. There’s also no coverage cap on Freon, which is more generous than the industry average of $10 per pound.

Pricing of AHW Home Warranty

Because AHW Home Warranty prices will vary based on the plan you choose and where you live, the This Old House Reviews Team requested a quote for Chicago, Illinois. Both the Appliances Plan and Systems Plan cost $479 annually, while the comprehensive Combo Plan is higher at $579 per year. Including a pool or spa under a contract will add $179 to the annual cost, and a septic system add-on is $65 per year.

Costs from AHW Home Warranty are in line with the industry average of $300–$600 per year. Basic coverage that covers the most essential home items will cost around $300, while more comprehensive coverage with add-ons will cost around $600.

AHW Home Warranty also requires a service fee, or deductible, of $75 which is due before a technician diagnoses or resolves an issue. The industry average ranges between $75 –$125.

State Availability

AHW Home Warranty is available in 45 states nationwide. It is not available in five states, including California, Iowa, Missouri, Oklahoma, and Washington.

AHW Home Warranty Reviews

The Better Business Bureau (BBB) accredited AHW Home Warranty in 2018 but revoked the company’s accreditation in November 2020 for its failure to adhere to the standards required for BBB-accredited businesses.

Here are examples of positive reviews left on the Better Business Bureau:

“[AHW Home Warranty] repair was able to repair my dishwasher the next day and was knowledgeable about the mechanics of it and fixed it in about an hour. He left no mess and ran a test cycle, asking that I call if anything didn’t work just right. I didn’t have to call because everything worked perfectly. I highly recommend [AHW Home Warranty].” — Isabella S. on 3/15/2020

“My sales representative James was very helpful and easy to work with. He was very knowledgeable and did not pressure me into buying like the other home warranty companies I have dealt with.” — Zeeshan A. on 12/20/2020

However, like all major home warranty companies, AHW Home Warranty has also had unhappy customers. Multiple homeowners have shared experiences of the company denying claims without providing a clear reason, and some have expressed having difficulty canceling their plan.

Here is some feedback shared by two of our readers:

[AHW Home Warranty] is refusing to cover a claim to replace a bad blower in my HVAC unit, we have now been without central air conditioning for over a week…The technician they sent to my home mis-diagnosed the issue as being caused by a leak. The issue is that the blower motor failed while the compressor continued to run causing the coils in the unit to freeze. I followed the [AHW] second opinion process and had an independent repair company provide documentation or the cause, who documented the cause and AHW is still refusing to cover the repair, and cannot give me a reason why. For this reason, I am calling [AHW] a scam.” — Paul R. on 10/19/2020

I signed up for AHW in October after reading your review. I had just purchased a home and had a thorough inspection [that confirmed it was] in very good condition. After a 30 day waiting period the policy went into effect (interesting that they charge you on day one but the policy isn’t in effect for 30 days). 4 days after the waiting period ended, my refrigerator ice dispenser went out…[I] did nothing for a few days and then my compactor started having issues. So, I called them and filed. In less than 24 hours they responded that both were declined because the issues were pre-existing. In a subsequent conversation with them, they indicated that the issues happened too soon after the start date. I asked how long after the 30 days was long enough. Their response was months for sure but maybe weeks for one item. The interactions have gone on for 2 1/2 months now. I am out $350. $200 for 4 months of the policy plus $75×2 for 2 service calls. For all of that I still have an ice maker dispenser that is out and a compactor with a bad switch.” — Dan. M on 1/15/2021

Additionally, a class-action lawsuit filed by the Arizona State Attorney General against AHW alleging false positive customer reviews was settled in November 2021, with the company agreeing to pay $150,000 of civil penalties and customer restitution. The Reviews Team has reached out to the company and has not yet received comment.

AHW Home Warranty vs. Competitors

If you’re not sure whether AHW Home Warranty is right for you, compare the company with other top home warranty providers in the industry. We recommend getting quotes from multiple home warranty companies so you can compare pricing and better understand your coverage options.

Compare Home Warranty Companies

ProviderBest ForMonthly CostService FeeBBB RatingYears in BusinessStates Covered
AHW Home WarrantyBest Add-Ons$29–$46$75B3 years*42 states (Not including CA, IA, ME, MN, NM, OK, UT or WA)
First American Home WarrantyValue$36–$38$75B35 years35 states (Not including AK, CT, DE, HI, IL, LA, ME, MA, MN, NH, NJ, NY, ND, RI, VT, WI)
American Home ShieldOverall$40–$58$75–$125B49 years49 states (Not including AK)
Choice Home WarrantyService$36–$44$60–85B11 years48 states (Not including CA, WI)
Select Home WarrantyLowest Deductible$36–$38$60–$75B8 years46 states (Not including NM, NV, WA, WY)
America’s First Choice Home ClubCustomization$43–$60$75–$125B10 years47 states (Not including CA, HI, NV)
Liberty Home GuardTrustworthiness$40–$60$65–$125A4 years48 states (Not including WA and WI)

*A settled class-action lawsuit filed by the Arizona Attorney General’s Office alleges that AHW started doing business in 2018, despite falsely claiming being in business for nearly or over a decade.

To get more information on the home warranty companies above, read our in-depth company reviews:

Our Conclusion

Because the company is currently being sued by the Arizona State Attorney General, we do not recommend this provider. AHW Home Warranty also may not be ideal if you live in California, Iowa, Missouri, Oklahoma, or Washington. Compare other home warranty options below.

VIEW MORE

Company Information

  • Company name: AHW Home Warranty, LLC
  • Address: 20 S 3rd Street Suite 210
  • City/State: Columbus, OH
  • Zip code: 43215-4206
  • BBB rating: NR

Our Score Breakdown for AHW:

CriteriaScore
Plan options10 / 10
Coverage specifics9 / 10
State availability6.6 / 10
Pricing9 / 10
Trustworthiness9 / 10
Customer service8 / 10
Additional benefits10 / 10
Total Score9.1 / 10

Frequently Asked Questions

Our Rating Methodology

The This Old House Reviews Team is committed to providing comprehensive and unbiased reviews to our readers, and we aim to provide transparency in our review standards and research process.

Our research process includes speaking with representatives from more than 40 home warranty providers, requesting quotes, and asking clarifying questions to gain insight into each provider’s benefits and downsides. We also analyze sample contracts from each company to understand specific coverage terms.

To rate companies, we apply the data we have gathered to our review standards. These standards are on a 100-point scoring system, which is detailed below:

  • Coverage (35 points): Providers are scored based on breadth and depth of coverage. We focused on key home systems (HVAC, plumbing, and electrical), essential appliances (refrigerator, ovens, and laundry machines), and unique coverage items (such as roof-leak coverage and code violation allowances). Coverage scores are weighted by taking into account coverage caps and other limiting factors, meaning providers with greater range of coverage and higher coverage caps score the highest.
  • Value (30 points): A company’s plan value is a reflection of how well it serves the customer in comparison to what the customer pays for the policy. We accounted for monthly costs, service call fees, and cost flexibility (such as customizable service call fees, discounts, and multi-year policies).
  • Trustworthiness and Transparency (21 points): Trustworthiness and transparency are a reflection of how well the provider considers the customer’s interests. We scored items such as the length of workmanship guarantees, online availability of a sample contract, policy change flexibility, and ease of cancellation. Additionally, we scored items that reflect industry reputation and customer satisfaction, including analyzing brand reputation across the Better Business Bureau and third-party customer review aggregators.
  • Availability and Service (14 points): Quality of customer service is key to customer satisfaction. We dug into each provider’s guaranteed response times, claims processes, service flexibility, emergency availability, and more.

To share feedback or ask a question about this article, send a note to our Reviews Team at reviews@thisoldhousereviews.com.