Florida offers several solar incentive programs to make solar power systems more affordable. While some programs are available to all Florida residents, others vary by city, municipality, and utility company.
You must purchase your system outright or choose a solar loan to qualify for Florida solar incentives. Leasing your solar system will disqualify you from the federal solar investment tax credit. Power purchase agreements (PPAs) will also disqualify you, but this payment option is prohibited in the state of Florida.
Below is an overview of solar credits and rebates available to Florida residents.
Florida Property-Assessed Clean Energy (PACE) Financing
Florida’s Property-Assessed Clean Energy (PACE) program allows Florida homeowners to borrow money for renewable and energy efficiency upgrades. These loans help households that are financially ineligible for traditional loans find more reasonable loan options through the state.
PACE loans last 10–20 years. Repayments are attached to your annual property tax bill at a fixed interest rate. PACE repayments connect to the property, not the owner, so if you sell your property, those repayments become the next owner’s responsibility. All Florida residents are eligible for PACE financing.
More resources: Visit Florida’s PACE website for full details and qualifications.
Property Tax Abatement for Renewable Energy Property
Installing a solar energy system does more than reduce your electric bills—it can also increase your home’s value. Normally, this would increase your property taxes, but Florida has a 100% property tax exemption for residential solar panel systems. This allows Florida residents to benefit from the added property value without the added taxes.
More resources: Check the official statute or Database of State Incentives for Renewables and Efficiency (DSIRE) for more information about the Florida Property Tax Abatement for Renewable Energy Property.
Solar and CHP Sales Tax Exemption
This law states that Florida residents won’t have to pay sales tax for a solar panel system. The exemption covers solar equipment, such as panels, batteries, inverters, rooftop solar racking, and other accessories. The tax exemption happens at the point of sale, not as a rebate or cash-back credit. All equipment must be certified by Florida Solar Energy Center.
More resources: Check the Florida Department of Revenue website or DSIRE for full details on Florida’s tax exemption.
Homeowners should check for local rebate programs from their city or utility company. Below are a few examples of local incentives:
- Boynton Beach Energy Edge Rebate Program: The Energy Edge program offers $1,500 for solar system installation per property. You can claim this rebate every 10 years, and it’s offered on a first-come, first served basis.
- Dunedin Solar Energy Rebate Grant Program: Dunedin residents receive a solar grant for $0.25 per watt of solar power generated, up to $2,500. This cash-back program is also first come, first served.
- Lakeland Electric Battery Incentive Program: Lakeland Electric solar customers can receive a 50% rebate for energy storage systems up to $1,000. Battery storage must provide a minimum of 6 kilowatt-hours (kWh) of usable capacity and include a warranty of at least 10 years or 5,000 cycles. Customers must apply and receive approval for the battery before installation.
More resources: Search DSIRE for additional programs, or check with your local municipality or utility company.
High-quality residential solar panels usually generate more energy than your home needs, leading to excess energy. Some homeowners use solar batteries to save this solar power for later use. However, Florida offers a net-metering program that allows you to sell this energy back to the electric grid. Floridians receive credits applied to future electricity bills, lowering overall costs. Thanks to the Florida Public Utilities Commission (PUC), net-metering is required throughout the state.
Florida net-metering programs must pay credits equal to the full retail rate. Each extra kWh generated equals 1 kWh pulled from the grid. The following major utility companies offer net-metering in the state:
Other utility companies and electric cooperatives offer net-metering programs, but they aren’t regulated by state law. These payout rates will differ between companies, so review the terms to learn more about each program.
More resources: Check your utility company’s website for more details or visit the DSIRE website for Florida’s net-metering policy