We may be compensated if you purchase through links on our website. Our Reviews Team is committed to delivering honest, objective, and independent reviews on home products and services.More

Best Interstate Moving Companies (April 2024)

Author Icon Written by Shane Sentelle + 1 other Reviewer Icon Reviewed by Kent Sisneros Updated 04/13/2024

Moving across state lines requires careful coordination and planning, so it’s essential to find the right moving company for your needs. We recommend International Van Lines due to its extensive partner network, ample interstate moving services, and competitive prices. American Van Lines is our No. 2 choice, particularly for customers with unique, expensive items. Its movers are vetted and background-checked, making it easier to avoid confusion around licensing and certification.

We based our recommendations on more than 4,800 hours of research on the moving industry and individual companies. We also interviewed multiple industry experts, surveyed 1,000 moving customers, and analyzed moving companies’ service offerings and protection plans using our rigorous methodology. Learn more about the best moving companies and compare their offerings in our comprehensive guide.


Best Interstate Moving Companies of 2024

Our methodology scores movers out of 100 points based on service packages, insurance coverage, online reputation with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA), and more. Here’s our list of the best interstate moving companies of 2024:

American Van Lines: Best Overall Moving Labor
Safeway Moving Inc.: Most Reliable Pricing
JK Moving Services: Best Specialized Packing
Allied Van Lines: Best for Vehicle Relocation
North American Van Lines: Best for Claims
Moving APT: Best Customer Service
Mayflower Moving: Best for Large Moves
United Van Lines: Best Base Moving Coverage

Compare the Top Interstate Movers

International Van Lines and American Van Lines are on our list because of their comprehensive service options and quality insurance coverage with full-value protection plans. See how our top interstate movers compare based on these important factors.

Star Rating BBB Rating Sample Quote Link
International Van Lines International Van Lines
B $2,519–$4,306 VISIT SITE
American Van Lines American Van Lines
A $4,544 VISIT SITE
Safeway Moving Inc. Safeway Moving Inc.
A+ $4,000–$5,000 VISIT SITE
Interstate Moving & Relocation Group Interstate Moving & Relocation Group
B $3,823–$4,824 VISIT SITE
JK Moving Services JK Moving Services
A+ $5,600–$6,622 VISIT SITE
Allied Van Lines Allied Van Lines
A+ $5,442 – $6,312 VISIT SITE
North American Van Lines North American Van Lines
A+ $4,700–$5,540 VISIT SITE
Moving APT Moving APT
B $3,566–$6,266 VISIT SITE
Mayflower Mayflower
A+ $3,500–$4,500 VISIT SITE
United Van Lines United Van Lines
A+ Call for quote VISIT SITE
International Van Lines
Logo International Van Lines
Star Rating
BBB Rating B
Sample Quote $2,519–$4,306
VISIT SITE
American Van Lines
Logo American Van Lines
Star Rating
BBB Rating A
Sample Quote $4,544
VISIT SITE
Safeway Moving Inc.
Logo Safeway Moving Inc.
Star Rating
BBB Rating A+
Sample Quote $4,000–$5,000
VISIT SITE
Interstate Moving & Relocation Group
Logo Interstate Moving & Relocation Group
Star Rating
BBB Rating B
Sample Quote $3,823–$4,824
VISIT SITE
JK Moving Services
Logo JK Moving Services
Star Rating
BBB Rating A+
Sample Quote $5,600–$6,622
VISIT SITE
Allied Van Lines
Logo Allied Van Lines
Star Rating
BBB Rating A+
Sample Quote $5,442 – $6,312
VISIT SITE
North American Van Lines
Logo North American Van Lines
Star Rating
BBB Rating A+
Sample Quote $4,700–$5,540
VISIT SITE
Moving APT
Logo Moving APT
Star Rating
BBB Rating B
Sample Quote $3,566–$6,266
VISIT SITE
Mayflower
Logo Mayflower
Star Rating
BBB Rating A+
Sample Quote $3,500–$4,500
VISIT SITE
United Van Lines
Logo United Van Lines
Star Rating
BBB Rating A+
Sample Quote Call for quote
VISIT SITE
Company Star Rating BBB Rating Sample Quote Visit Site
4.9
B $2,519–$4,306 VISIT SITE
4.4
A $4,544 VISIT SITE
4.2
A+ $4,000–$5,000 VISIT SITE
4.4
B $3,823–$4,824 VISIT SITE
4.7
A+ $5,600–$6,622 VISIT SITE
4.8
A+ $5,442 – $6,312 VISIT SITE
4.5
A+ $4,700–$5,540 VISIT SITE
4.4
B $3,566–$6,266 VISIT SITE
4.8
A+ $3,500–$4,500 VISIT SITE

Note: Sample quotes are for a 2-bedroom move from Portland, Oregon, to San Francisco.
Note: BBB ratings are accurate as of January 2024.


What Should I Know About Interstate Movers?

Understanding key details about interstate movers will help you determine which company best matches your move’s criteria. We recommend informing yourself about what goes into calculating an interstate move’s cost, what insurance coverage is available, and the different service models the moving industry currently provides.

Interstate moving costs depend on distance, total item weight, and time of year. These moves cost around $4,802 or more, based on the quotes we gathered for this guide. We recommend you get at least three quotes to obtain the most competitive offer possible for your move.
Moving companies typically charge based on estimated weight. Summer is peak season for movers and is thus more expensive, and some companies will also offer 10%–25% discounts during off-peak times in early spring, late fall, or winter.
Additional services such as packing, unpacking, and storage increase to the cost. Our research showed that national movers charge more than independent ones, so getting multiple quotes and balancing your options helps yield a cost-effective result.
Moving insurance protects your belongings while a company transports them from one location to another. This insurance shields your possessions from potential damage or loss during transit.
The most basic coverage required by federal law is called released value protection. It provides minimal protection at no extra charge, compensating items based on their weight rather than their value.
All providers on our list also offer full-value protection. This is a comprehensive option in which the moving company is responsible for repairing, replacing, or reimbursing the full value of damaged or lost items. The price you pay for this option will depend on the value of your items. If you want even more protection, you can buy additional coverage from an insurance provider separate from the moving company, which usually adds another $200–$300.
There are three main service models for interstate moving. The most comprehensive and expensive option is a full-pack service in which you pay a moving company to pack, load, transport, unload, and unpack your belongings. You can also opt for a partial pack, in which you pack some of your belongings but hire movers to deal with more difficult items, such as bulky furniture, large mirrors, or televisions.
More budget-friendly services include a self-move and container move. A self-move involves renting a moving truck and moving everything yourself without additional moving services. A container move has a mover deliver a storage container to your original home, return to pick it up, transport it to your new home, and deliver the container there for you to unload.

Top Companies for Interstate Moves

International Van Lines

Best Service Offerings
4.9

We highly recommend International Van Lines (USDOT #: 2293832) for interstate moves. International Van Lines (IVL) is a full-service mover that assists with packing, loading, delivery, unpacking, and unloading. It offers one of the most comprehensive service selections on this list. You can also add additional services and protection plans to these full-service options. For example, you can easily select a full-pack move with IVL and request additional help to relocate a boat or piano. Overall, we like the company’s excellent service profile, quick quote process, and expert teams.

How We Scored International Van Lines

IVL scored 4.9 out of 5 stars according to our methodology. The company received our highest rating due to its comprehensive list of basic and add-on services and its wide service area. The company also received high marks for its excellent Better Business Bureau (BBB) rating and its provision of interstate moving services. However, it lost some points for not offering a rental truck option or financing.

  • Moving Services (59 out of 59 points): IVL offers one of the most comprehensive selections of moving services, including all options for full-pack, partial-pack, and specialty services, such as crating for artwork and antiques.
  • Insurance Coverage (8 out of 8 points): IVL scored high in this area because it offers more than three insurance coverage options. You can pay top dollar for full-value protection or opt for less expensive partial-value release plans.
  • Scheduling (8 out of 8 points): We found IVL’s scheduling and quote process simple and easy with multiple communication methods, including email and phone.
  • Additional Benefits (10 out of 13 points): The company lost points in this category because it doesn’t provide financing or any do-it-yourself (DIY) moving options, but still offers comprehensive storage services and sells packing materials.
  • Customer Service (12 out of 12 points): IVL maintains an overall positive reputation across online review sites. It has only featured one crash report in the past two years, with a majority of its trucks passing federal inspection and staying in service.

Pros and Cons

Pros Provides interstate moves across all 50 states Offers comprehensive protection plans Offers specialty services, such as vehicle shipping and piano moving Cons Receives mixed customer reviews depending on location Requires a 25% deposit when booking a move Its website features persistent pop-up ads

Interstate Moving Services

In addition to its full-service packing options, IVL offers several add-on services ideal for difficult interstate moves, including the following:

  • Bulky item relocation
  • Large vehicle shipping
  • Motorcycle shipping
  • Piano moving
  • Temporary or permanent storage

Cost

A standard quote process with IVL involves an in-depth phone estimate or in-person consultation. We recommend undergoing an in-person consultation, as it helps make the initial estimate more accurate and allows you to get any questions answered quickly.

We used IVL’s online moving cost calculator to generate the following sample quote. This quote is general; we would need to undergo an in-person consultation to get a more precise, binding estimate.

  • Sample quote: $2,519–$4,306 (two-bedroom move from Portland, Oregon, to San Francisco, California)
  • Deposit: 25%
  • Payment accepted: Cash, cashier’s check, credit card (deposit only), money order

Reputation and Reviews

As with many nationwide movers, your experience will vary depending on your location and the local agents operating in your area. Because of this, we recommend you find your local IVL branch and look at its BBB profile. IVL’s headquaters has an A rating on the BBB, but it isn’t currently accredited by the site. Its reviews cite prompt service, but some mention spotty quality depending on the partner companies booked. Here’s a sample of some reviews:

“They wrapped my furniture and packed everything really well. During the move, they told me how things were going, which helped me relax. Unpacking was fast, and they even helped put things where I wanted. They were really professional!” —Noel via BBB on September 6, 2023

“The shipment was $900 more expensive than quoted after providing a detail accounting of the items. I received my cross country shipment 21 days later. No information was provided from customer service, they did not know where my belongings were. The shipment arrived with many of the boxes with water damage, (contents wet) boxes completely broken up and all the items were completely filthy.Do not use this service. This was not my first cross county move. Can I leave less than one star?” —Kay M via BBB on May 21, 2023

American Van Lines

Best Overall Moving Labor
4.4

American Van Lines (USDOT #: 614506) provides comprehensive moving services for residential, military, and corporate customers. The company’s movers have an average of 10 years of experience in the industry and receive extensive training, ensuring their reliability.

American Van Lines is ideal if you want background-checked, vetted, and experienced interstate movers. We like this aspect of American Van Lines because it can be challenging to ensure every mover you consider has the proper licenses, especially when moving between states. Though every mover on this list holds these credentials, American Van Lines is upfront and reassuring about the quality of its moving labor.

American Van Lines is not available in Alaska or Hawaii.

How We Scored American Van Lines

American Van Lines scored 4.5 out of 5 stars according to our rating scale. The company provides a complete range of services, including intrastate, interstate, and international moving options. It received positive marks for its service offerings and extensive moving valuation coverage options. However, it lost some points for customer convenience. You need to call to book with the company, as it doesn’t provide a moving cost calculator on its website.

  • Moving Services (59 out of 59 points): American Van Lines’ service packages and offerings are as comprehensive as IVL’s. You can receive specialty services from highly trained moving professionals and decide between a partial-pack or full-pack move.
  • Insurance Coverage (8 out of 8 points): The company scored high here because it offers multiple levels of insurance coverage to match your budget and needs.
  • Scheduling (4 out of 8 points): American Van Lines scored lower here because it only offers scheduling via phone. Many other interstate movers offer convenience through online scheduling and virtual consultations. American Van Lines also limits its customer service hours to 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. EST Monday through Friday and 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. EST on Saturdays. The company is closed on Sundays.
  • Additional Benefits (8 out of 13 points): The company offers fewer additional benefits than our top choice. It also doesn’t have any financing or DIY moving options, nor does it provide an online cost calculator or much cost information on its website.
  • Customer Service (9 out of 12 points): American Van Lines maintains a positive online reputation on the BBB. However, some of its trucks appear to fail federal inspections regularly. It also features a report of injury and five tows on its FMCSA profile.

Pros and Cons

Pros Employs full-time movers who hold averages of 10 years of experience Offers expedited move service for many routes between major cities Provides fixed-rate estimates rather than online quotes, meaning you get more accurate pricing Cons Includes a deposit that can range from 10%–50% of your total cost Tends to charge higher prices than some competitors Doesn’t offer any shipment tracking

Interstate Moving Services

American Van Lines offers a distinct service for interstate moves that guarantees the safety of your fragile items. Its full-service interstate moving crew handles wrapping, padding, packing, and protecting your delicate belongings.

The company also offers the following services for interstate moves:

  • Corporate relocation
  • Military relocation 
  • Online shipment tracking
  • Temporary and permanent storage
  • White-glove relocation of artwork and antiques

Cost

Another excellent perk for interstate moves with American Van Lines is its flat-rate pricing. There are a lot of moving parts to an interstate move, so this pricing model is helpful if you’re on a tight budget or wary of added fees.

American Van Lines publishes sample moving costs online for moves between major cities, but you’ll have to go through an in-depth consultation process to get more accurate pricing. We pulled the following estimate from its site:

  • Sample quote: $4,544 (two-bedroom move from Portland, Oregon, to San Francisco, California)
  • Deposit: Up to 50% up-front
  • Payment accepted: Cash, cashier’s check, credit card, money order, and traveler’s check

Reputation and Reviews

The company features an A rating on the BBB, and its 4.03 out of 5 stars for customer reviews indicates solid service. American Van Lines customers praised its pricing structure, but some negative reviews mentioned price hikes and difficulty communicating with moving crews.

“The moving crew did a great job explaining everything to me before starting. The guys were very courteous and professional. I am definitely satisfied with how everything went.” —Todd via BBB on June 27, 2023

“This company is great at setting up a move and taking your money. However, they misplaced 10% of my boxes/personal items. They directed me to file a missing claim and thats it. Its been months. They wont return your phone call, no supervisor is ever available. I cant believe I paid extra to have these thieves steal my things. Absolutely disgusting. I wish I could give negative stars. They dont even deserve 1 star.” —Karen via BBB on March 31, 2023

Safeway Moving Inc.

Most Reliable Pricing
4.2

Safeway Moving Inc. (USDOT #: 3756000) is a carrier and broker that can help you find an interstate moving company that meets your specific moving requirements if its own crews aren’t available. Because of its broker status, the company operates a bit differently than IVL and American Van Lines, but we still find it a worthwhile interstate moving company. Customer satisfaction is a top priority for Safeway, and the company ensures you’re kept informed throughout the moving process and receive timely responses to any queries or concerns.

You can reach out to the company seven days a week. Like American Van Lines, Safeway provides flat-rate estimates for its services. Additionally, a portion of its moving fees is donated to St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital.

How We Scored Safeway Moving Inc.

Safeway earned 4.1 out of 5 stars according to our methodology. Safeway provides a complete range of moving services, including packing and storage. It offers online and over-the-phone quotes for your convenience. However, Safeway doesn’t provide additional benefits, such as moving calculators or financing options, which may be a drawback for some customers. It’s important to note that specialized services may be available in certain areas, but you shouldn’t expect them for all Safeway moves.

  • Moving Services (59 out of 59 points): Because Safeway acts as a moving broker, it can connect you with practically any service you want, including options for partial packing, full packing, and specialty services.
  • Insurance Coverage (5 out of 8 points): Safeway keeps its insurance options rather simple by offering a single released value protection plan and one full-value protection plan.
  • Scheduling (8 out of 8 points): We like that Safeway offers multiple ways to contact and communicate with its team. Communication remains a focus for Safeway throughout the entire moving process. It features phone, email, and chat options. We found our interactions with Safeway during research easy and pleasurable.
  • Additional Benefits (4 out of 13 points): This is where Safeway loses some serious points. Though it connects you with a wide variety of standard moving services, the company can’t guarantee you receive shipment tracking, financing, online resources like checklists, moving calculators, and other benefits many other providers offer. It also doesn’t deal with any DIY interstate moving methods, such as truck rentals.
  • Customer service (6 out of 12 points): Safeway suffers from a poor reputation due to the companies it brokers. Customers have mixed experiences once connected with movers, and Safeway also features higher-than-average issues on its FMCSA profile.

Pros and Cons

Pros Includes a 100% service guarantee on its services Provides binding estimates and flat-rate pricing Specializes in interstate moves Cons Does not advertise having as many services as other full-service movers Has little information on its website about pricing or deposit requirements Features mixed customer reviews due to third-party movers

Interstate Moving Services

Safeway focuses on full-service relocation, providing door-to-door service that includes packing, loading, unloading, and unpacking. Safeway focuses chiefly on interstate moves, which helps it land higher on our list. You receive the following additional services for its interstate moves:

  • 24/7 customer service
  • Custom crating for fragile items
  • Moving assistance for senior citizens 
  • Temporary and permanent storage

Cost

Safeway offers flat-rate, binding estimates for its moving services. Due to this policy, the company can’t provide exact cost information online. To get a fixed-rate pricing plan, Safeway requires a detailed evaluation of each move. The total weight of your move, the distance, the services you require, and the insurance you purchase through a partner carrier are all factors that affect your overall cost with Safeway. Though this is a more rigorous quote process than other providers, it guarantees a better quote, and our interactions were pleasant throughout the entire process.

We requested a Safeway quote online and submitted an inventory sheet to the company representative who responded. The representative provided the following quote:

  • Sample quote: $4,000–$5,000 (two-bedroom move from Portland, Oregon, to San Francisco, California)
  • Deposit: Up to 40%
  • Payment accepted: Cash, credit card, certified check, and money order

Reputation and Reviews

Safeway operates mainly as a broker, but some reviews have reported bait-and-switch pricing tactics. However, most reviews are positive and mention the high service quality, thorough quote process, and comprehensive insurance coverage. Safeway has a B- rating with the BBB. Here are a couple of recent Google Reviews for your reference:

“It was so nice to see the crew being extra careful with our kid’s favorite toys and cuddly animals. They packed them separately and made sure they were easy to find. When our little one saw their toys all safe, their smiles were priceless.” —Arnold via Google Reviews in September 2023

“We were underquoted and overcharged!! We booked our move from CO to NV through International Van Lines, and their CO division is Safeway Moving. Day of the move, Safeway Moving showed up and told us our move would be an additional 7K! After the truck was loaded, their on-site move coordinator, [name], asked us for a tip for him and the team, super unprofessional. Avoid this company!” —Anya via Google Reviews in June 2023

Interstate Moving & Relocation Group

Most Efficient
4.4

Interstate Moving & Relocation Group (USDOT #: 3034100) is a good fit for anyone who wants to take some of the legwork out of finding the right mover for their needs. Like Safeway, Interstate Moving & Reloation Group (IMRG) is a moving broker that specializes in coordinating interstate relocations through its network of independent local, long-distance, and international movers. Unlike Safeway and other companies on our list, IMRG doesn’t directly provide moving services as a carrier. The company is only a broker.

We like that IMRG provides an informative website and offers a wide range of excellent partner companies with detailed service profiles you can browse. Getting quotes is a straightforward process, but customer service is unfortunately limited on weekends.

How We Scored Interstate Moving & Relocation Group

IMRG received a rating of 4.4 out of 5 stars. The company stands out for its service profile and flexibility, offering assistance with local, long-distance, and limited international moving. It allows booking online or over the phone and provides moving checklists and guides for each stage of the moving process. However, IMRG loses points for not offering storage, truck rental, and financing options.

  • Moving Services (59 out of 59 points): Because it’s a broker, IMRG connects you with movers who can provide any moving package you want. We noticed all options were offered during our research, including full packing, partial packing, crating, and specialty services.
  • Insurance Coverage (5 out of 8 points): IMRG only offers two insurance plans: a partial-value protection plan and a full-value protection plan.
  • Scheduling (8 out of 8 points): IMRG offers contact options through the phone and online. The company provides clear communication between you and your connected movers overall.
  • Additional Benefits (6 out of 13 points): IMRG provides a decent selection of extra benefits, but we did notice it lacks when it comes to DIY moving options, financing, and storage services. Storage services are fairly standard in the moving industry, too.
  • Customer Service (9 out of 12 points): IMRG maintains a more positive reputation online due to its helpful customer service, and our research shows that it routinely passes inspections and hasn’t had any accidents in the last two years on its FMCSA profile.

Pros and Cons

Pros Offers in-house financing options for larger move bills Can negotiate lower prices with movers in its network Accommodates full- and partial-service moving requests through its extensive network of independent movers Cons Is not available for customer support on Saturdays or Sundays Charges a 4% fee for any cancellations made after 72 hours from the booking date Isn’t ultimately responsible for damage due to broker status

Interstate Moving Services

IMRG offers both full-service and self-service moving assistance. You can handle the packing and hard work independently or outsource it to a qualified professional, and IMRG can connect you with the right mover for your needs. Some of the services that IMRG coordinates include packing, loading, unloading, and transportation.

Here are the others services it offers:

  • Cleaning
  • Junk removal 
  • Piano moving
  • Temporary and permanent storage
  • Vehicle shipping

Cost

IMRG provides a cost calculator tool for quick estimates. However, we recommend getting a personalized quote to set an accurate budget. This will involve a phone call or a virtual estimate and will take your service needs and inventory into account. We spoke to an IMRG move coordinator who provided us with a written estimate including the following information:

  • Sample quote: $3,823–$4,824 (two-bedroom move from Portland, Oregon, to San Francisco, California)
  • Deposit: Up to 33%
  • Payment accepted: Credit card and check

Reputation and Reviews

As a moving broker, IMRG’s service quality depends on the quality of its partner companies in a given locale. Positive customer reviews remarked on its crews’ professionalism. Negative feedback mentioned bait-and-switch pricing tactics. Here are recent customer reviews to illustrate general trends:

“Interstate moving and relocation group is the BEST! Their customer service is outstanding. Their men show up on time, work quickly and efficiently. Manager has bent over backwards to meet my needs at the storage site. They are reasonably priced and great to work with. They know how to please the customer. You won’t go wrong with Interstate moving and relocation group.” —Ann via Google Reviews in September 2023

“Typical bait and switch. My bill almost doubled by the time all is said and done. I wish I had read more about moving scams before choosing a “too good to be true” price. They went from best price to worst price slowly.- broker – estimate over the phone – re-estmate days before truck shows up at a much higher price – mistakes on estimate (things listed twice) but they won’t fix the estimate because that lowers their cut – movers insist on post office money order” —Ray B via BBB on June 18, 2023

JK Moving Services

Best Specialized Packing
4.7

JK Moving Services (USDOT #: 1065394) is a full-service mover that customizes each moving package to your specific moving needs and budget. JK Moving stands out for its commitment to creating personalized moving packages, even for complex interstate moves. One notable feature of JK Moving is that it offers financing options for interstate moves, which is rare among professional movers. JK Moving has partnered with Enhancify to offer customers rates as low as 0% same-as-cash, making it an excellent choice for those looking for full-service options but with a budget to keep in mind. 

This financing is especially useful because JK Moving charges more for its full-service moves than other full-service movers on this list, such as IVL and Safeway.

How We Scored JK Moving Services

JK Moving received 4.7 out of 5 stars. Its financing options and long-distance and international moving offerings stand out. Its lack of DIY moving offerings or a moving cost calculator knocked its final rating down slightly.

  • Moving Services (59 out of 59 points): JK Moving offers highly comprehensive service options for you to customize your moving package. The company offers all standard full-pack and partial-pack options, as well as crating and specialty services for antiques and artwork.
  • Insurance Coverage (5 out of 8 points): The company keeps its insurance coverage to only two options, despite providing more detailed financing options. It offers one partial-value protection plan and one full-value protection plan.
  • Scheduling (8 out of 8 points): JK Moving offers both phone and online options to schedule a more in-depth virtual or in-person estimate process.
  • Additional Benefits (10 out of 13 points): JK Moving earns higher points than other providers because of the many additional benefits it offers, such as its financing programs, storage services, GPS tracking, and more. It doesn’t provide any online tools to help you learn about its pricing.
  • Customer Service (12 out of 12 points): The company features high customer review scores online, and its FMCSA profile features one injury and two tows. Overall, it seems to maintain excellent customer service and support.

Pros and Cons

Pros Provides financing options as low as 0% Offers GPS shipment tracking for all interstate moves Features 24/7 customer service so you’re always in the loop with your shipment Cons Has received some customer reviews that mention difficult communication at times Offers no sample pricing information online Features higher-than-average pricing according to customer reviews

Interstate Moving Services

JK Moving offers comprehensive packing assistance for interstate moves, including partial packing for fragile belongings and full packing for a white-glove experience. It also offers these services:

  • Government moves
  • International moves 
  • Office moves and IT removal
  • Shipment tracking 
  • Temporary and permanent storage

Cost

JK Moving has a great mobile app that offers swift AI-assisted mobile estimates without needing an in-person consultation. The app also provides 24/7 customer service, making obtaining pricing and general information easier. We contacted a JK Moving sales representative to get a quote for our research. The process was longer than that of other interstate movers, but it yielded a more accurate and detailed quote. We received the following information:

  • Sample quote: $5,600–$6,622 (two-bedroom move from Portland, Oregon to San Francisco)
  • Deposit: $250 up-front
  • Payment accepted: Cash and credit card

Reputation and Reviews

JK Moving maintains an A+ BBB rating and high marks across review platforms. The company features a high customer review score of 4.38 out of 5. Its movers’ training and the financing options it offers rate highly, while general quality variance holds it back. We’ve included a couple of JK Moving reviews here:

“The J&K Moving team arrived early, ready to go in this condo to condo (in the same building) move. They protected all the surfaces and furniture. Moved swiftly and efficiently, with excellent teamwork. They were friendly and checked everything to make sure they had the furniture where we wanted it. I would absolutely use J&K again, and highly recommend them for any move.” —Andy via Google Reviews in September 2023

“What a disaster! We hired JK to move our daughter’s apartment contents from Miami to Philadelphia. Her furniture was badly damaged, but we were compensated nothing despite having purchased supplemental insurance. They did not honor their contract and–what’s more–they falsified a document claiming “prior damage”. We’re disputing the payments with our credit card company, but I wish we never contacted this company in the first place. They’re the worst.” —Elizabeth via BBB on Dec. 2, 2022

Allied Van Lines

Best for Vehicle Relocation
4.8

Allied Van Lines (USDOT #: 076235) is a full-service mover that offers a wide range of services primarily carried out in-house. These services include packing, loading, transportation, unloading, and unpacking. Additionally, the company provides in-house vehicle relocation services, which other moving companies don’t commonly offer. Other companies on this list, such as IVL, will broker vehicle shipping services. With over 500 locations nationwide, the company is well-equipped to provide additional services as needed.

How We Scored Allied Van Lines

Allied scored 4.8 out of 5 stars based on our rating scale. It secured a top position among our recommended moving companies due to its excellent services for local, long-distance, and international moves. Allied offers a variety of services such as packing, crating, storage, and more. However, it lost a few points in our rating criteria because it doesn’t provide DIY moving options and financing.

  • Moving Services (59 out of 59 points): Allied offers every moving service most interstate movers care about, including vehicle shipping and piano moving.
  • Insurance Coverage (8 out of 8 points): The company offers multiple levels of protection for your belongings. Therefore, you can adjust coverage to match your budget and desired level of security.
  • Scheduling (8 out of 8 points): Allied contacts you through either phone, online chat, or email. The company’s website is one of the more user-friendly ones we’ve encountered.
  • Additional Benefits (8 out of 13 points): Allied doesn’t provide any financing or moving truck rentals, so it loses some points here. The company lost more points because its website doesn’t provide a moving calculator of any sort despite being so nice.
  • Customer Service (12 out of 12 points): We found Allied to feature an overall positive reputation online, and it responds to more than 90% of the complaints it experiences on the BBB. Though the company’s FMCSA profile features fewer failed inspections than average, it has more injuries, crashes, and tows than other companies, with a total of 39 incidents. However, it seems this might be because of the company’s massive size.

Pros and Cons

Pros Offers in-house vehicle relocation services Provides GPS tracking on all shipments Operates throughout all 50 states Cons Has received customer reviews that mention the claims department is hard to reach Doesn’t offer instant quotes for larger homes Provides a misleading “InstaQuote” option that doesn’t actually provide a quote

Interstate Moving Services

Allied offers a range of services to make your interstate move easier. In addition to professional packing and vehicle shipping, it has several specialty options to customize your move. One such option is Allied Express, a moving container service with expedited shipping for smaller moves. With Allied Express, you can choose to pack and load yourself or request professional moving labor. Allied also offers these services:

  • Corporate relocation
  • Crating for fragile items
  • Packing supplies for sale
  • Temporary and permanent storage
  • Third-party cleaning services

Cost

Allied offers an InstaQuote feature on its site that claims to provide quick ballpark pricing, but it still requires you to call or contact the company to receive the quote. Though this is misleading and frustrating, it’s common that you should contact a moving company representative for a more comprehensive and customized quote. We used Allied’s InstaQuote tool and called the company to generate the following for our move:

  • Sample quote: $5,442–$6,312 (two-bedroom move from Portland, Oregon, to San Francisco, California)
  • Deposit: None
  • Payment accepted: Cash, certified check, check, and money order

Reputation and Reviews

Allied has over 500 locations, and the quality of these locations can vary greatly. We recommend closely examining local reviews and review pages rather than relying on the nationwide consensus. The company’s headquarters BBB page features a 1.1 out of 5-star rating, but other Allied locations score better. Allied has an A+ rating from the BBB and has been accredited since 2012. Here are a couple of Allied reviews to give you an idea of service quality:

“We had a relatively small move of some of our home possessions to Florida. Although it was relatively small, there was still a lot of important things for us to bring to our new home. The driver and the men he brought to help him load were courteous, thorough, wrapped everything beautifully. Delivery was flawless and as professional and well done. Not a thing broken bent or torn. We’re very appreciative and would highly recommend Siracusa [Allied agent] moving and storage.” —Denise via Google Reviews in August 2023

“It was a challenge from the beginning with communication, supplies and timing of delivery. The real problem lies when you pay the high costs associated with a move, you at least expect your items will be handled with care. We had parts missing from chairs and desks. Our most important, costly recliner had a giant grease stain on it when unwrapped. The movers have a difficult job. It certainly is not easy, but the planning, communication and execution for the money we paid needed to be better.” —Scott via Google Reviews in May 2023

North American Van Lines

Best for Claims
4.5

North American Van Lines (USDOT #: 070851) offers comprehensive insurance coverage for your belongings during transit, including various plans that go up to full-value protection. It provides an easy claims process in case something goes wrong, which is perfect for those who need to transport expensive items during interstate or cross-country moves. With services available in all 50 states, North American Van Lines (NAVL) is a great choice for anyone needing quality moving help. Its protection plans, variable pricing structure, and 500 locations also make it a good fit for any moving need and budget.

How We Scored North American Van Lines

NAVL received a rating of 4.5 out of 5 stars via our scoring system. We awarded this moving company credit for providing a wide range of full-service moving options, including packing and storage assistance, across various distances. However, it received fewer points due to its more limited booking procedures, which require customers to speak with a moving representative over the phone.

  • Moving Services (59 out of 59 points): You can receive all possible standard interstate moving services with NAVL.
  • Insurance Coverage (8 out of 8 points): We like NAVL for its protection plans and insurance, so it scored high here. NAVL offers a basic carrier liability protection program called No-Cost Released Value Protection. This program is a part of NAVL’s full-valuation protection program and provides a minimum shipment value of $6,000 and a value of $6 per pound. To calculate the coverage amount, your shipment’s total weight is multiplied by $6. This is significantly more coverage than the standard 60 cents per pound required by federal law.
  • Scheduling (4 out of 8 points): NAVL only offers over-the-phone communication methods.
  • Additional Benefits (10 out of 13 points): You receive many of the additional benefits we search for in a quality mover with NAVL, such as storage services and GPS tracking. The company doesn’t offer any DIY moving services or financing, though.
  • Customer Service (9 out of 12 points): Though NAVL appears more than 90% responsive to complaints on its BBB profile, the company has an alarming FMCSA profile. Its failed inspection rate sits at 27.3%, which exceeds the national average of 22.26%, and it features 29 total crashes in the past two years. Like with Allied, these high numbers could be because NAVL is a massive company.

Pros and Cons

Pros Provides a detailed and transparent damage claims process Has more than 500 agents locations across all 50 states Offers bottom-line and not-to-exceed pricing structures for all moves Cons Has limited storage options depending on your location Features varied availability based on your location Boasts an a la carte service model for complete customization

Interstate Moving Services

NAVL provides its customers with flexibility when it comes to interstate packing services. You can choose between full or partial packing assistance. Additionally, you have the option to request that only your fragile items or other belongings that require maximum protection be packed by NAVL’s interstate moving teams. Here are some of NAVL’s additional services:

  • Appliance installation
  • Debris removal
  • Packing supplies
  • Temporary and permanent storage 
  • Vehicle shipping

Cost

NAVL offers bottom-line pricing options for all moving quotes. This can help you avoid sticker shock when the final bill is due. That pricing model equates to all-inclusive rates, which won’t shift unless service needs or inventory do. We got a preliminary estimate for an interstate move from a NAVL representative by working with them over the phone and email.

  • Sample quote: $5,067–$5,770 (two-bedroom move from Portland, Oregon, to San Francisco, California)
  • Deposit: None
  • Payment accepted: Cash, certified check, money order, check

Reputation and Reviews

NAVL’s interstate moving options are among the best available, but the quality of service might change according to your location. Because of this, we suggest you look into your local NAVL branch’s BBB page and not just the national page. Its headquarters’ BBB page features an A+ rating and accreditation but also a 1.13 out of 5-star rating. We recommend reviewing customer feedback for your local NAVL branch before booking.

Here are two customer reviews of this carrier:

“The crew that packed my apartment was amazing. They were extremely thorough and handled all my furniture as if it was their own. Everything arrived across country in one piece and as packed. The crew that delivered it was great, delivering my belongings to a difficult to reach address and moved things where I needed them to go. Through the whole process the move coordinators were highly responsive.” —Mark via Google Reviews in August 2023

“Much of our furniture and boxed items were damaged or pieces lost to put furniture back together. We are even missing a couple of expensive items. We are filing a report with the company. The movers were careless and negligent. I am appalled at the work ethic of the movers who moved our belongings from ***** to ******. So disappointing.” —Rebecca P via BBB on July 25, 2022

Moving APT

Best Customer Service
4.4

Moving APT (USDOT #: 2247863) is a moving broker that operates through partners in all 50 states to provide specialized services for long-distance and interstate moves of all sizes. Its former customers have given it high ratings for its responsiveness and service profile, and they find it easy to obtain quick quotes and personalized estimates through its informative website. Moving APT is another great option similar to IMRG for you if you don’t care to research and determine what companies match your needs.

How We Scored Moving APT

Moving APT scored 4.4 out of 5 stars on our rating scale. It lost points due to its lack of online booking capabilities and less comprehensive insurance options, which vary between its partner companies. In addition to its local and long-distance moving services, it gained points for its moving calculator and other online moving resources.

  • Moving Services (59 out of 59 points): Moving APT is a broker that can connect you with movers that fulfill all standard interstate moving services, including vehicle relocation.
  • Insurance Coverage (5 out of 8 points): By law, Moving APT offers a released value protection plan, but it also offers full-value options. Your specific options will vary according to what carriers you receive.
  • Scheduling (4 out of 8 points): Moving APT features an overall pleasant website, but it only offers scheduling over the phone.
  • Additional Benefits (8 out of 13 points): Unlike many other providers on this list, Moving APT does offer moving truck rentals, but it still doesn’t provide financing. It surprisingly doesn’t offer packing supplies and materials to help with a self-service move.
  • Customer Service (12 out of 12 points): Moving APT features a higher customer review score and response rate on its BBB page than many other providers on this list despite not having accreditation and only a B rating. The company’s FMCSA profile is also spotless.

Pros and Cons

Pros Provides interstate move preparation and packing guides on its website Offers interstate moving services in all 50 states Has a quote tool that provides fast ballpark estimates for all move sizes Cons Works exclusively as a broker and contracts moves to third-party carriers Has mixed reviews depending on location Doesn’t remain responsible for any damage due to broker status

Interstate Moving Services

Moving APT can provide full-service assistance to all customers moving across state lines. Services include packing, loading, custom crating, and more. It also partners with leaders in the self-service moving space, allowing you to rent a moving container and handle the packing yourself. Moving APT can also arrange the following services:

  • Cleaning services
  • Commercial moves
  • Shipment tracking
  • Temporary and permanent storage
  • Vehicle shipping

Cost

We used Moving APT’s cost calculator tool to yield the figure below. You can get a sample quote like this in a few minutes, but Moving APT will require a phone or in-person consultation for accurate pricing. Three of Moving APT’s partners contacted us after we shared our move details with a sales representative. You should prepare to field conversations with several interested movers.

  • Sample quote: $3,566–$6,266 (two-bedroom move from Portland, Oregon, to San Francisco, California)
  • Deposit: Varies between partners
  • Payment accepted: Cash, check, and money order

Reputation and Reviews

As mentioned above, Moving APT’s BBB page features a B rating with no accreditation, but it also features one of the highest customer review scores we’ve seen at 3.53 out of 5 stars. Many reviews note that the company’s resources and quick quotes get solid reviews, but its poor customer service after booking is worth noting. We’ve included a sample of this broker’s reviews below.

“The driver and crew were very efficient and hard working. Their time to load us and deliver was incredible. ***** was the driver and was a great leader. ****** and ******* were just great in their handling of our household goods. They were a delight to work with.” —David via BBB on July 11, 2023

“My furniture has been en route for 2 months and was supposed to be delivered in 1 week. The salemans lie and tell you they can accommodate the long distance but then customer service says they have 21 business days to deliver. No one can provide a manager and drivers information. Every conservation is scripted. I just want my antique deceased ******************. Im fearful they stole it and that is why they refuse to provide information of the location. They only told me ****************** has it and won’t provide any further information.” —Whitney via BBB on July 29, 2022

Mayflower

Best for Large Moves
4.8

Mayflower (USDOT #: 125563) is one of the U.S.’s oldest and most trusted moving brands. Mayflower has offered a leading moving service since its founding in 1927. Today, it provides local, interstate, and international relocation assistance. It gets our vote for the best option for large interstate moves due to its fleet of more than 800 trucks.

Mayflower isn’t available in Delaware, Hawaii, Rhode Island, or West Virginia.

How We Scored Mayflower

Mayflower scored 4.8 out of 5 stars with us. Its comprehensive basic and add-on service profile makes it a solid choice for most residential or commercial moving needs. It offers tiered insurance options and has a solid customer service reputation, which boosted its overall rating.

  • Moving Services (59 out of 59 points): Mayflower provides all the standard services for interstate relocation, as well as the added perks of vehicle shipping, crating, and piano moving.
  • Insurance Coverage (8 out of 8 points): The company offers multiple possible insurance plans, customizing the coverage to match your shipment’s value and your moving budget.
  • Scheduling (8 out of 8 points): You can contact Mayflower online or over the phone to schedule a consultation.
  • Additional Benefits (10 out of 13 points): Mayflower offers a decent selection of additional benefits, including tracking and a moving supplies store. However, the company lost a few points because it doesn’t offer financing or moving truck rentals.
  • Customer Service (10 out of 12 points): Mayflower appears responsive to more than 90% of complaints on UniGroup’s (its parent company) BBB page. The company also features a failed inspection rate of 23.2%, which is close to the national average, as well as 29 reports of crashes in the last two years.

Pros and Cons

Pros Offers local, long-distance, and international service Provides fully-customizable moving packages Features GPS tracking for longer moves Cons Features mixed reviews across its service area Has no quick quote feature online Features several broken links on its website

Interstate Moving Services

Mayflower provides plenty of interstate moving assistance through a variety of service offerings. Other than the typical packing and loading service you can expect from a full-service mover, Mayflower offers the following interstate services:

  • Crating
  • GPS tracking
  • Packing supplies
  • Storage
  • Vehicle shipping

Cost

Mayflower’s quote process is similar to that of other large movers. You submit a quote request form online or call to speak with a move coordinator to get your estimate. You should have a full inventory list of all major items to move. Mayflower will give you a binding estimate for your move with no deposit required for booking. We obtained a quote with Mayflower after working with a representative over the phone. 

  • Sample quote: $3,500–$4,500 (two-bedroom move from Portland, Oregon, to San Francisco)
  • Deposit: None required
  • Payment accepted: Cash, traveler’s check, cashier’s check, and money order

Reputation and Reviews

Mayflower’s expedited service options and efficiency were commonly cited in positive reviews on UniGroup’s BBB page. However, negative feedback mentioned rushed estimates or altered pricing when the bill was due. Below is some recent customer feedback.

“I called on a Saturday and they were able to fit me in first thing Monday morning. Very prompt. The guys were careful with my furniture” —Tamara via Google Reviews in June 2023

“Gave us a quote then never responded again. Also, the quote was 25% more than the competitor that actually communicated with us and we went with. Maybe I should thank [name] for not getting back to us.” —Brian via Google Reviews in August 2023

United Van Lines

Best Base Moving Coverage
4.8

United Van Lines (USDOT #: 077949) is a long-standing leader in the moving industry. This business has been operating since 1928 and offers local and long-distance services throughout all 50 states. We appreciate that this company provides specialized services for both commercial and residential moves, specifically for home offices. This helps guarantee the safety of your valuable tech items during transit.

How We Scored United Van Lines

United Van Lines scored 4.8 out of 5 stars according to our rating scale. The company received high ratings for its excellent service offerings, valuable coverage, and flexible scheduling options. However, we had to deduct some points from the overall score because United Van Lines doesn’t offer packing materials, truck rentals, or financing options.

  • Moving Services (59 out of 59 points): You can receive full-pack and partial-pack interstate moving services with United Van Lines, as well as vehicle shipping and specialty crating.
  • Insurance Coverage (8 out of 8 points): United Van Lines offers various insurance plans that you can customize to suit your moving budget and the value of your shipment.
  • Scheduling (8 out of 8 points): Our research shows that you can contact United Van Lines online or via phone, but we recommend calling the company for more direct and quick help.
  • Additional Benefits (8 out of 13 points): United Van Lines loses some points as it’s not helpful for many self-service moving services, such as selling packing materials or DIY moving truck rentals. You do receive GPS tracking, storage services, and an online calculator.
  • Customer Service (12 out of 12 points): Like Mayflower, United Van Lines is also part of UniGroup, so it features a similar online reputation. The company boasts a solid inspection history, but it features a lot of crashes reported to the FMCSA in the past two years—82 incidents with 26 resulting in injury.

Pros and Cons

Pros Offers installation and breakdown service for tech items and commercial moves Provides valuation coverage for high-value items Has shipment tracking for all moves Cons Charges more for its services compared to competitors Receives poor marks for communication in certain areas Features a lengthy quote process, so it’s not ideal for quick relocation

Interstate Moving Services

With more than 4,000 registered trucks in its fleet, United Van Lines can offer direct interstate service as a carrier. Its interstate service offerings include the following:

  • Moving labor
  • Packing and unpacking
  • Storage
  • Tech breakdown and installation
  • Vehicle shipping

Cost

We had a similar quote experience with United Van Lines as we did with Mayflower. The company provides flat-rate estimates for all moves it provides. We recommend calling United Van Lines for your own customized quote before booking.

  • Sample Quote: Contact for pricing
  • Deposit: None required
  • Payment Accepted: Cash, traveler’s check, cashier’s check, and money order

Reputation and Reviews

The company’s dedicated tech and home office installation options are mentioned in many positive reviews on UniGroup’s BBB profile and Google Reviews. Like any moving company that operates throughout the United States, you’ll experience quality variance between locations.

“[Name] and his crew did an excellent job. They were very professional and courteous. I highly recommend them.” —Colleen via Google Reviews in September 2023

“Awful service, lack of communication, and unnecessary delays in resolving problems.We contracted with United to move our belongings from the ******* area to the ****** area. The service provider lost track of our shipment and was unable to tell ** where it was and when it would arrive. It ultimately arrived three days late.When seeking compensation for late delivery, following guidance provided by the company, we have yet to hear back from them regarding what is covered and how to apply for recovery. Amazed that this is a logistics company.” —Bruce V via BBB on February 21, 2023


What Determines An Interstate Move’s Cost?

Your interstate move’s cost will primarily depend on the distance, weight of your items, and time of year. We’ve also outlined two basic pricing structures for interstate moves below.

Single-Day Interstate Moves

You’ll typically pay hourly for shorter, single-day interstate moves. This is similar to the cost structure for local moves. Additional services, such as packing, will be accounted for in your final total based on the number of hours worked, so you can save money by packing as much as you can yourself before your moving day.

You may also incur material costs for packing supplies or crating or pay flat fees for specialty services such as moving a piano or pool table. You can save money on standard packing supplies by getting boxes from grocery or liquor stores. Regardless, you’ll receive an estimate that includes all the services provided, an hourly rate based on the movers’ demand, and an approximate estimate of the total time it will take to complete your move.

Multiday Interstate Moves

Longer interstate moves are where costs get more complicated. You’ll pay flat rates or ballpark estimates based on the following factors:

  • Move distance and shipping weight: These factors help calculate “line-haul fees,” which account for most of any long-distance move’s cost. Movers should have defined weigh-in processes for their trucks and stable per-mile rates to determine these fees.
  • Add-on services: Added services, such as packing, crating, vehicle shipping, and more, will inflate your cost. These may have flat fees attached or be part of your line-haul fee. This will depend on the mover you use.
  • Company size: Comparing quotes between national van lines, local movers, and truck rental options can reveal major pricing differences. Well-known brands typically charge more than smaller independent movers but may provide better service, reliability, and claims handling.
  • Move date: If possible, try to avoid moving between May and September. These are movers’ busiest months and often come with higher rates, which companies raise in response to heightened demand.
  • Insurance: Replacement value protection plans and other moving insurance options protect your items but contribute to the overall price. Higher-value plans cost more. Going without protection saves money but carries financial risks if items are damaged.
  • Advance booking: Book your move at least six weeks to a month in advance to avoid higher rates. Some movers charge more when you book within a week of your move date.

We requested sample quotes for an interstate, two-bedroom move as part of our moving provider research, and the average cost landed around $4,802. We’ve included a quick quote comparison in the table below to help you prepare for your own interstate moving quote process.

Moving CompanySample Quote*Deposit Required
International Van Lines$2,519–$4,30625%
American Van Lines$4,544Up to 50% up-front
Safeway Moving Inc.$4,000–$5,000Up to 40%
Interstate Moving & Relocation Group$3,823–$4,824Up to 33%
JK Moving Services$5,600–$6,622$250 up-front
Allied Van Lines$5,442 – $6,312None
North American Van Lines$4,700–$5,540None
Moving APT$3,566–$6,266Varies between partners
Mayflower$3,500–$4,500None
United Van LinesCall for a quoteNone

*Sample quotes are for a 2-bedroom move from Portland, Oregon, to San Francisco.


What Are My Interstate Moving Options?

Interstate moving companies offer different service models based on your requirements and budget. Understanding the differences will help you choose the best option for your move.

This guide mainly explores full-service moves, which includes complete packing and handling of all your household contents by trained moving crews. The movers will bring packing materials, carefully pack boxes with your items, load the truck, drive to your new home, unpack, and often even provide basic furniture setup. Full-service interstate moves offer convenience and involve less physical work but come at a premium cost, averaging around $4,802 based on quotes we collected.
If your interstate move is a quick, one-day journey across state borders, you might be able to hire a local mover rather than a big, national company. However, you must check that the mover holds the proper licenses in both states through the FMCSA.
Alternatively, affordable truck rental services such as U-Haul allow you to pack yourself and drive a moving truck across states on your own. This is a budget-friendly option, costing closer to $1,000–$2,000, but it entails substantial effort, including buying packing supplies, packing/lifting furniture safely, getting the right vehicle, and driving it long-distance. Damage risks are also higher without professionals.
Container shipping puts your items in a secure crate driven across the country and delivered to your new address. Containers work well for partial, long-distance moves since they can be loaded/unloaded in stages. You’d still need to handle packing. Flexible container pickups accommodate timing needs.
Freight transport providers can prove ideal for those moving specialty items such as vehicles, oversized furniture, or heavy machinery. These providers have the right equipment, such as flatbeds, car haulers, or box trucks, to transport large, awkward items securely.

How Do I Plan and Prepare for an Interstate Move?

An interstate moving company streamlines your move to a new home across state lines, but you still need to prepare ahead of moving day for a successful experience.

Here’s how you should plan and prepare for an interstate move:

  • Downsize: The less you have, the less your move will cost. Create a home inventory list that keeps track of the items you plan to sell, donate, or throw away.
  • Create an inventory list: Write up an inventory list by room. You should also estimate how many boxes you’ll need for each room’s items.
  • Research moving companies: Start assembling a list of reputable companies serving your area. The FMCSA is a great government resource to find a company’s insurance information and see whether it has any active red flags, such as revoked licensing.
  • Get quotes and book your move: Get quotes from all of the moving companies you’re considering six weeks to one month ahead of your move date. Aim to book your move at least a month in advance. Get copies of your moving contract when you confirm your move date. Also, read the FMCSA’s Rights and Responsibilities documentation; your mover should provide you with a copy.
  • File a change of address: File change-of-address forms with your local post office two weeks in advance of your move date. Then, change your contact information with your bank, place of employment, and any other relevant institution.

What Time Line Should You Follow To Prepare for Your Interstate Move?

Adhering to a time line for your interstate move can make a difference. We’ve broken down a moving checklist and an average time line to help you book on time and stay on track with packing for your interstate move.
Eight weeks: Take a full inventory of your home. Write lists of what you plan to take and what you plan to get rid of. Use these lists when you request quotes from movers. Begin researching movers near you.
Six weeks: Field quotes from movers near you and begin packing your belongings. Start with out-of-season items and work toward more essential items at a measured packing pace (a few boxes per day). 
Four weeks: Aim to book your move around a month before your move date. Continue packing your items, and arrange shut-off and turn-on dates for all utility services at your current and new addresses.
Two weeks: Continue packing. You’ll be packing some semi-essential items at this point. File a change of address form at your local post office or online.
Moving week: Finish your move preparations by packing your kitchen items and some of your essential clothing. Leave just enough clothing and kitchenware until the day before the move to ensure you can cook and have access to essential goods during your road trip to a new state.

How Do I Choose the Best Interstate Moving Company?

Choosing the right interstate moving company requires thorough research and evaluation. The best mover should have plenty of experience moving household goods across state borders, offer services that align with your schedule and financial constraints, and employ skilled professionals who will handle your belongings with utmost care.

  • Research customer reviews: Research location-specific reviews to ensure the quality of service in your area. Even the best national moving companies have locations in areas that provide subpar service. Google Reviews, Yelp, the BBB, and social media are great sources for customer feedback. Note positive and negative trends to discern how each company treats its customers.
  • Check for proper licensing and credentials: Choose a mover registered with the FMCSA with all required state-level licenses and permits to operate where you’re moving from and to. Confirm that the company and its drivers have valid operating authority records and insurance to cover accidents or damages. This protects you against rogue or fraudulent movers.
  • Get multiple quotes: Compare a minimum of three binding moving estimates from different highly rated companies, examining their costs, reputation, services, transit time guarantees, and insurance/valuation coverage. Reputable interstate moving companies offer binding or not-to-exceed estimates after an at-home visit to review your belongings. Be wary of extremely lowball estimates that may indicate a lack of experience or attempts to raise the price later.
  • Ensure it will meet your service needs: Make a list of all services you’ll need your movers to handle before getting a quote. For example, decide if you want full packing or only loading and unloading service. If you plan to fly to your new state, you may need to consider vehicle shipping. Reference your list of required services and inquire about the accompanying rates during your in-person consultation.
  • Evaluate your movers’ quote processes: Ask about deposit requirements and whether a mover provides flat-rate or binding estimates during the quote process. You can also ask about moving insurance options during the quote process.
  • Confirm all logistics: Confirm logistics around pickup/delivery dates that work with your timeline and destination readiness. Established interstate moving companies with modern processes often provide online calendars and portals for convenient booking and tracking. Partnering with the right mover makes navigating an interstate relocation much less stressful.

Watch the video below for a quick guide to vetting and booking a mover:


Our Conclusion

International Van Lines gets our vote as the best mover for anyone crossing state lines, as its ample service profile should make for an easy move in any situation. The company also maintains a favorable reputation despite operating at such a large scale.

American Van Lines is another excellent option if you need to transport difficult items, such as antiques, and want highly experienced interstate movers. Safeway Moving Inc. is our pick if you want unmatched customer service and communication for your interstate move. The company may only operate as a broker, but it provides seven-day customer support and shipment tracking and features some of the highest customer review scores.

QUICK Tip
We suggest getting at least three quotes from professional interstate movers before booking. This will help you evaluate and compare the providers and ensure you get the best price for the job. We recommend obtaining quotes at least six to eight weeks before your move and booking a month in advance. This will enable you to lock in a lower rate and ensure all necessary services are taken care of.

What Are the Best Moving Companies in My State?

Use the tool below to find the best moving companies in your area:


FAQ About Interstate Movers

What are the cheapest days to hire a moving company?

The cheapest days to hire a moving company are Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday in the fall or spring season. Moving companies may raise rates in the summer months and on weekends to cope with higher demand. We also recommend booking your move during the week in the fall or spring to avoid paying higher rates.

What is an interstate move?

An interstate move is when you move from one state to another. It’s regulated primarily by the FMCSA.

What is an intrastate move?

An intrastate move is a move that takes place within the borders of one state, such as moving within California from Sacramento to Los Angeles.

Is it cheaper to buy new furniture or pack it for an interstate move?

It’s typically better to keep your furniture if you’re moving locally or a shorter distance. If you’re moving cross-country, selling your old furniture and buying new furniture for your new home can be more cost-effective. You’ll cut down on the size and weight of your move and reduce your overall cost with the moving company.

What should I not pack in a portable moving container for an interstate move?

You shouldn’t place the following items in a portable moving container or a moving truck:

  • Acids
  • Aerosols
  • Batteries
  • Fertilizer
  • Fire extinguishers
  • Gasoline
  • Loaded guns
  • Nail polish remover
  • Paints
  • Perishable foods
  • Pesticides
  • Poisons
  • Pool chemicals
  • Propane tanks
  • Vehicle oil
Why Trust Us? We conducted 4,800+ hours of research on moving companies and crafted a ranking system based on the following research
31
Companies Considered
1000
Homeowners Surveyed
21000
Reviews Analyzed
22
Providers Compared

Our Rating Methodology

We back up our moving company ratings and recommendations with a detailed rating methodology to objectively score each company. We conduct research by reading through the company websites, analyzing customer reviews, conducting consumer surveys, requesting quotes, and speaking with customer representatives. We then score each moving company against our review standards for services, contents coverage, scheduling options, additional benefits and custom service options, and reputation among customers to arrive at a final score on a 5-point rating scale.

To share feedback or ask a question about this article, send a note to our Reviews Team at reviews@thisoldhousereviews.com