Tarrytown, New York
Frederick Philipse, an Anglo-Dutch merchant, built this three-story fieldstone house in 1683. He housed over 20 servants and a number of tenant farmers on the grounds of this commercial agricultural powerhouse: A single mill could churn out 15 tons of flour in a week. After he died in 1702, the house's condition slowly deteriorated until a major restoration was completed in the 1960s.
Situated in the area of New York made famous by the writing of Washington Irving, the manor's grounds include a millpond described in The Legend of Sleepy Hollow
and the original Dutch Reformed Sleepy Hollow Church, built for tenants and workers in 1697. The interior features period artifacts, accompanied by touchable reproductions for visitors to explore. The foreroom kas
, or storage cabinet—full of reproduced documents that visitors can handle—is a crowd favorite.
The grounds of the Philipsburg Manor
will be transformed into a haunted landscape visited by the Headless Horseman and other ghosts from Hudson Valley lore. Call 914-631-8200 for more information.