Andrew Jackson's 1819 Greek Revival brick mansion was built on a site chosen by his wife, Rachel Donelson Jackson, who passed away right before his presidential inauguration in 1829. A fire destroyed most of the structure in 1834, and the home stands now as it did after its 1835 restoration, in which all the ceilings were raised and all the windows enlarged. Porches became two-story galleries with Corinthian columns, and elegant double doors open to a central hall with a grand, circular staircase. The interior boasts scenic French wallpaper, marble mantelpieces, and a beautiful library-office.
The home was passed to The Ladies Hermitage Association in 1889. Some of the ladies took turns sleeping there to keep watch while renovations were in progress. Once, the women were awakened by the sound of a horse galloping up and down the main stair; many believe the phantom rider to have been Andrew Jackson himself, demanding they get to work.
hosts the annual "Hauntings at the Hermitage." Call 615-889-2941 for more information.